We have a Steam curator now. You should be following it. https://store.steampowered.com/curator/44994899-RPGHQ/

I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream

No RPG elements? It probably goes here!
Konjad

I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream

Post by Konjad »

I started playing it and so far I enjoy it. The story is about an AI that wiped out all of humanity except for a few people which it made immortal just to torture them eternally, but after over one hundred years they get a chance to hope to commit suicide...

So far I have completed Gorrister's and Ellen's paths. I liked Gorrister's story a lot. Ellen's was rather mediocre, and she is constantly cracking jokes which completely does not fit the story about an eternal torment. Also got a bit stuck with her point-and-click "riddles". Overall though the game seems decent so far and I'm glad I have finally gave it a try after having it in the Steam backlog for so long. I thought I won't enjoy it as I don't like point-and-click adventure games in general, but I was wrong.

The_Mask

Post by The_Mask »

Is her cracking jokes in character, or it doesn't make sense on that level either?
Konjad

Post by Konjad »

It seems completely out of place considering the theme of the game. There's not really enough character to speak of though either. She is Mary Sue...
Last edited by Konjad on March 14th, 2024, 20:15, edited 1 time in total.
Vergil

Post by Vergil »

I think you have to remember they've been in this situation for 108 years and have started to become desensitized to a lot of AM's basic fuckery. She does still break down when an apparition of her rapist comes up but her little character arc is about overcoming that trauma so there's an argument to be made that she's been toughened from prior situations to the point where even her most severe trauma and torment is now surmountable.
Nemesis
Director of Synchronous Communication Channels

Post by Nemesis »

Make sure to read the short story.
Acrux
Turtle
Turtle